You never gave up on me

When uncertainty is my closest friend

When everything feels it’s beginning to end

When my vision blurs and life is unclear

When distance is more normal than near

When tripping becomes my steady tread

When existentialism becomes my daily bread

When I want to give up – and when I do

Thank you for wading the night river through

 

Thank you for sitting by my side

Ready with your rain jacket for the showers of tears

Holding a candle through my darkest night

You lean close, whisper softly in my ear,

“O my darling, it’ll be alright.”

Your soul with mine dost abide

Despite the chains and shackles of fear

When I turn, shy, and run from the Light

You somehow find me and sit real near

When I stumble, blind, without sight

You catch me, softly, and remain by my side

 

‘To the one who never gave up on me.’

Never truer words could there be.

Leave a Reply

